Lloyd's List is part of Maritime Intelligence

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Maritime Insights & Intelligence Limited, registered in England and Wales with company number 13831625 and address c/o Hackwood Secretaries Limited, One Silk Street, London EC2Y 8HQ, United Kingdom. Lloyd’s List Intelligence is a trading name of Maritime Insights & Intelligence Limited. Lloyd’s is the registered trademark of the Society Incorporated by the Lloyd’s Act 1871 by the name of Lloyd’s.

This copy is for your personal, non-commercial use. For high-quality copies or electronic reprints for distribution to colleagues or customers, please call UK support at +44 (0)20 3377 3996 / APAC support at +65 6508 2430

Printed By


Lloyd's List 2018 Americas Awards - The Winners

Gala event returns to the heart of the US Gulf maritime industry for its fifth year, recognising companies from across the Americas for their outstanding contribution to the industry

Maersk, Norton Rose Fulbright and International Seaways were among the winners and highly-commended companies celebrated for their outstanding contribution to the industry at a gala event in Houston

WINNERS of the 2018 Lloyd’s List Americas Awards have been recognised at a gala event in Houston, Texas.

Companies from across the Americas were honoured for their outstanding contribution to the industry, and for going above and beyond the normal run of business.

Five new categories were added this year to reflect changing challenges for the shipping industry.

The Best Fuel Solution and Best Technology for Cleaner Emissions accolades and the Cyber Security Innovation Award were among the new categories.

A Cruise Safety Innovation award recognised the vanguard role the cruise sector plays in general maritime safety and the importance of the industry in the Americas. 

More than 45 finalists and 15 winners were celebrated at the Four Seasons Hotel in Houston. The judges commented that this year’s submissions made the decision-making process extremely difficult as there were so many qualified entrants reflecting the dynamic nature of the industry at this time and a quest for excellence in shipping.

Dr. James Chao, founder and president of Foremost Group, was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award. Dr. Chao, a master mariner, built the dry bulk shipowning and finance company having emigrated to the US following regime change in China.

Foremost Group Chairman and CEO Angela Chao presented the accolade.

A list of full winners is below:-

Best Fuel Solution Award
Waterfront Shipping 

Best Technology for Cleaner Emissions
General Electric — Winner
Seacor Marine Holdings — Highly Commended

Company of the Year
Groupe Desgagnés

Cyber Security Innovation Award
Naval Dome

Deal of the Year
Port Corpus Christi

Environment Award
Dual Winners
Vancouver Fraser Port Authority

i-law Maritime Law Award
Norton Rose Fulbright

Port Infrastructure Development of the Year
APM Terminals

Port Operator of the Year
Port Houston

Safety Training Initiative
Shell Trading US Company, Shipping & Maritime, Americas

Ship Operator of the Year
International Seaways — Winner
Harley Marine Services — Highly Commended

Lloyd’s List Intelligence Data Innovation Award
Maersk Line

Cruise Safety Innovation Award
Holland America Group

Lifetime Achievement Award
Foremost Group founder Dr James Chao

Related Content





Ask The Analyst

Please Note: You can also Click below Link for Ask the Analyst
Ask The Analyst

Your question has been successfully sent to the email address below and we will get back as soon as possible. my@email.address.

All fields are required.

Please make sure all fields are completed.

Please make sure you have filled out all fields

Please make sure you have filled out all fields

Please enter a valid e-mail address

Please enter a valid Phone Number

Ask your question to our analysts